Partnership for Biodiversity Protection in Viticulture in Europe

Partnership for Biodiversity Protection in Viticulture in Europe

Field of action: Business and Biodiversity

Project goals: The project aims to exchange experiences to train each other and to develop training and information materials and special biodiversity training modules.

Project area: Europe, especially in Portugal, Spain, Germany and Turkey

Duration: September 2015 – August 2018

Background

Today, sound knowledge is available about the connection between viticulture and the protection of biodiversity. However, farmers still do not take sufficient account of this knowledge and do not sufficiently adapt production methods. One of the reasons for this is that the issue of biological diversity is not sufficiently addressed in the education of farmers or in further training, nor do they receive advice on this issue directly on their farms.

Implementation

  • knowledge exchange between the partner organisations in order to train each other and to develop materials that are practical and applicable.
  • new and already existing knowledge has been processed and made more accessible to winegrowers.
    • Fact sheet, Identification guide, Educational videos
  • development of training and analysis modules to train winegrowers in the systematic analysis of their effects.
    • Biodiversity Check, Biodiversity Action Plan

Contact

Contact person: Dr. Kerstin Fröhle

E-mail: kerstin.froehle@bodensee-stiftung.org

Phone: +49 (0) 7732-9995-40

Project Partners

Project Funding

Erasmus+

Project Funding“The European Commission support for the production of this publication does not constitute an endorsement of the contents which reflects the views only of the authors, and the Commission cannot be held responsi­ble for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.”

Further Information

Fact Sheet „Biodiversity protection in viticulture in Europe“

The document briefly explains what biodiversity is, but mainly deals with the benefits vine growers have if protecting biodiversity. In addition, “Good examples” of successfully implemented measures from Germany, Spain, Portugal and Turkey will be presented.

The Fact Sheet is available in 4 country-specific versions and languages: German, Spanish, Portuguese and Turkish. In addition, an English “European document” was developed.

Identification Guide “Species diversity in viticulture”

An approximately 60-page booklet that shows vine growers which friends and allies can settle in a biodiverse vineyard. It facilitates the identification and recognition of the most important species or groups of species that occur in the vineyard and gives interesting details about their way of life. In addition, there are many practical tips on how biodiversity and especially beneficial organisms can be promoted by small measures.

The booklet is helpful for vine growers, advisors, teachers in viticulture schools and other vinicultural experts and is available in 4 country-specific versions and languages: German, Spanish, Portuguese and Turkish. In addition, as an example for countries not participating in the project, the Portuguese version has been translated into English.

Educational videos

In 16 short clips, important measures for biological diversity are presented and their advantages for viticulture are mentioned.

Subtitles are available for all clips in German, English, Spanish, Portuguese and Turkish.

Biodiversity check – individual training concepts in Spain, Portugal, Turkey and Germany

The Biodiversity Check offers the vine growers a first individual overview over the issue of biodiversity and thus provides the basis for integrating biodiversity in the management and to undertake actions for the sustainable use of resources and the protection of nature. The check is used to examine the different areas of the farm, such as management, vineyard, purchasing, sales etc. with regard to the effects on biodiversity. New is the fact that not only the direct impacts of the vinery/farm are considered, but also indirect effects that could arise along the supply chain, e.g. sustainability of materials used, marketing, sales etc. The check identifies the contact points between the farm and biodiversity and provides suggestions for objectives and measures to reduce risks and negative impacts. It is an internal instrument and does not constitute a certification. However, farmers can communicate that they have participated in the check, but the communication of activities and projects that have been performed to support biodiversity should be a priority.

Elements of the Biodiversity Check for vine growers:

  • Interview guide which serves as the basis for a structured conversation on the inventory of the farm.
  • (Confidential) individual biodiversity training concept to show the farmers´ strengths and weakness, setting goals and measures to enhance biodiversity performance.
  • Training of the vine growers in the application of their individual concept.

Who is addressed?

Who should be checked? The check provides vine growing farmers the opportunity to receive an individual biodiversity training concept that shows the farmers´ strengths and weakness, sets goals and measures to enhance its biodiversity performance. Additionally, vine growers also receive training in the application of their individual concept.

Who is going to check?  Within the project the partners have been trained in the procedure of the check and are good contacts. However, the check is designed in this way that other nature protection organization, technical stuff from winegrowers/agricultural associations and companies, teacher of agricultural schools, farm advisors or others not participated at the project can also do the check independently.

The biodiversity check and the manual are also available in 4 country-specific versions and languages: German, Spanish, Portuguese and Turkish. In addition, an Englisch “European” document was created.

Biodiversity Action Plan – Catalogue of measures to promote biological diversity

This brochure brings together the biodiversity knowledge of more than 70 winegrowers in four countries and the project team. The Biodiversity Action Plan is a roadmap to improve biodiversity performance at farm level. It is a catalogue with possible measures for all viticulture-relevant areas such as cultivation and production in the vineyard, harvest, wine bottling etc. By indicating already implemented and other possible activities to promote biodiversity, each farmer/winegrower can develop his own action plan. The around 110 actions, most of which have been tested and applied for years as best practices, have been complemented by research carried out by the partners.

The Biodiversity Action Plan and its measures can be applicable to all production systems and is also available in the 5 languages.

Partnerschaft zum Schutz der Biologischen Vielfalt im Weinbau in Europa

Partnerschaft zum Schutz der Biologischen Vielfalt im Weinbau in Europa

Handlungsfeld: Unternehmen und Biologische Vielfalt

Projektziele: Das Projekt zielt auf den Austausch von Erfahrungen ab um sich gegenseitig zu schulen und um Schulungs-, und Informationsmaterialien und spezielle Biodiversitäts-Trainingsmodule zu entwickeln.

Projektgebiet: Europa, speziell in den Ländern Portugal, Spanien, Deutschland und Türkei

Laufzeit: September 2015 – August 2018

Hintergrund

Fundiertes Wissen über den Zusammenhang zwischen dem Weinanbau und dem Schutz der Biodiversität ist vorhanden. Aber das Wissen wird von den Landwirten immer noch nicht ausreichend berücksichtigt und die Produktionsmethoden nicht ausreichend angepasst. Einer der Gründe dafür ist, dass das Thema Biologische Vielfalt nicht genügend in der Ausbildung der Landwirte oder in weiteren Fortbildungen behandelt wird, noch erhalten sie Beratungen zu diesem Thema direkt auf ihrem Betrieb.

Umsetzung

  • Erfahrungsaustausch zwischen den Partnerorganisationen um sich gegenseitig zu schulen, und Materialien zu entwickeln, die praktikabel und anwendbar sind.
  • Bereits bestehendes oder auch neues Wissen wurde aufbereitet und den Winzern zugänglicher gemacht
    • Faktenblatt, Bestimmungshilfe. Schulungsvideos
  • Entwicklung von Trainings-, und Analysemodulen mit deren Hilfe der Winzer in der systematischen Analyse ihrer Auswirkungen geschult werden kann.
    • Biodiversitäts Check, Biodiverstiäts Aktions Plan

Genauere Beschreibung der Ergebnisse unter „weitere Informationen“. Bei Bedarf werden auch Schulungen zu diesen Materialien durchgeführt.

Kontakt

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Kerstin Fröhle

E-Mail: kerstin.froehle@bodensee-stiftung.org

Telefon: +49 (0) 7732-9995-40

Projektpartner

Deutschland: Global Nature Fund, Ecovin

Spanien: Fundación Global Nature, La Unió

Portugal: Quercus, ADVID

Türkei: Rapunzel Organik Tarim

Projektförderer

Erasmus+

„Dieses Projekt wurde mit Unterstützung der Europäischen Kommission finanziert. Die Verantwortung für den Inhalt dieser Veröffentlichung trägt allein der Verfasser; die Kommission haftet nicht für die weitere Verwendung der darin enthaltenen Angaben.“

Weitere Informationen

Fact Sheet „Schutz der Biologischen Vielfalt im Europäischen Weinbau“

Das Dokument erklärt in kürze was Biodiversität ist, geht dann aber hauptsächlich auf die Vorteile ein, die ein Winzer hat, wenn er sich für den Schutz der Biodiversität einsetzt. Zusätzlich werden „Gute Beispiele“ von erfolgreich umgesetzten Maßnahmen aus Deutschland, Spanien, Portugal und der Türkei präsentiert.

Das Fact Sheet ist in 4 länderspezifischen Versionen und Sprachen erhältlich: Deutsch, Spanisch, Portugiesisch und Türkisch. Zusätzlich wurde ein „Europäisches“ Dokument in English erstellt.

Bestimmungshilfe „Artenvielfalt im Weinbau“

Eine etwa 60 seitige Broschüre, die den Winzern zeigt welche Freunde und Verbündete sich in einem biodiversen Weinberg ansiedeln können. Er erleichtert die Bestimmung und Wiedererkennung der wichtigsten im Weinberg vorkommenden Arten oder Artengruppen und nennt interessante Details zu deren Lebensweise. Außerdem finden sich viele Praxistipps, wie die Biologische Vielfalt und insbesondere Nützlinge durch kleine Maßnahmen gefördert werden können.

Die Broschüre ist hilfreich für Winzer, Anbauberater, Lehrer in Weinbauschulen und weitere Experten im Weinbau und ist in 4 länderspezifischen Versionen und Sprachen erhältlich: Deutsch, Spanisch, Portugiesisch und Türkisch. Zusätzlich wurde als Beispiel für nicht am Projekt teilnehmende Länder die Portugiesische Version auf Englisch übersetzt.

Schulungsvideos

In 16 Kurzfilmen werden wichtige Maßnahmen für die Biologische Vielfalt vorgestellt und deren Vorteile für den Weinbau benannt.

Für alle Filme sind Untertitel in den Sprachen Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch, Portugiesisch und Türkisch vorhanden.

Biodiversitäts-Check – Individuelle Trainingskonzepte in Spanien, Portugal, Türkei und Deutschland

Der Biodiversitäts-Check bietet dem Weinbauer einen ersten individuellen Überblick über das Thema Biodiversität und bildet damit die Grundlage für die Integration von Biodiversitätsaspekte in die Bewirtschaftung und für Maßnahmen zur nachhaltigen Ressourcennutzung und zum Schutz der Natur. Der Check dient dazu, die verschiedenen Bereiche des Betriebes, wie Management, Weinberg, Einkauf, Verkauf usw. hinsichtlich der Auswirkungen auf die Biodiversität zu untersuchen. Neu ist der Punkt, dass nicht nur die direkten Auswirkungen des Weinguts/der Farm berücksichtigt werden, sondern auch indirekte Effekte, die entlang der Lieferkette auftreten könnten, z.B. Nachhaltigkeit der verwendeten Materialien, Marketing, Vertrieb etc. berücksichtigt werden. Der Check identifiziert die Berührungspunkte zwischen dem Betrieb und der Biodiversität und gibt Vorschläge für Ziele und Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung von Risiken und negativen Auswirkungen. Es ist ein internes Instrument und stellt keine Zertifizierung dar. Betriebe können jedoch mitteilen, dass sie an dem Check teilgenommen haben. Die Kommunikation von Aktivitäten und Projekten, die zur Förderung der Biodiversität durchgeführt wurden, sollten allerdings Priorität haben.

Der Biodiversitäts-Check für Weinbauer besteht aus:

  • Interviewleitfaden, der als Grundlage für ein strukturiertes Gespräch über die Ist-Situation des Betriebs dient.
  • (Vertrauliches) individuelles Biodiversitäts-Trainingskonzept zur Darstellung der Stärken und Schwächen der Landwirte, Festlegung von Zielen und Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Biodiversitätsleistung.
  • Schulung der Landwirte bei der Anwendung ihres individuellen Konzepts.

Wer wird damit angesprochen?

Wer sollte untersucht werden? Der Check bietet dem Winzer die Möglichkeit, ein individuelles Biodiversitäts-Trainingskonzept zu erhalten, dass die Stärken und Schwächen aufzeigt und Ziele und Maßnahmen festlegt um seine Biodiversitätsleistung zu verbessern. Zusätzlich werden die Winzer in der Anwendung ihres individuellen Konzepts geschult.

Wer sollte den Check durchführen? Im Rahmen des Projekts wurden die Partner in der Vorgehensweise des Checks geschult und sind gute Ansprechpartner. Der Check wurde jedoch so konzipiert das auch andere NGOs, Fachleute von Winzer/Landwirtschaftsverbänden, Technische Berater, Lehrer in Landwirtschaftsschulen, Betriebsberater oder andere nicht am Projekt beteiligte Personen den Check eigenständig durchführen können. Weitere Hilfestellung und eine genaue Anleitung liefert das Dokument „Guidance“.

Auch der Biodiversitäts-Check sowie die Anleitung ist in 4 länderspezifischen Versionen und Sprachen erhältlich: Deutsch, Spanisch, Portugiesisch und Türkisch. Zusätzlich wurde ein „Europäisches“ Dokument in English erstellt.

Biodiversitäts Aktions Plan – Maßnahmenkatalog zur Förderung der Biologischen Vielfalt

Diese Broschüre trägt das Wissen zum Thema Biodiversität von mehr als 70 Winzern in vier Ländern und des Projektteams zusammen. Der Biodiversitäts Aktions Plan ist ein Fahrplan um die Biodiversitätsleistung auf Betriebsebene zu verbessern. Es ist ein Katalog mit möglichen Maßnahmen für alle weinbaurelevanten Bereiche wie Anbau und Produktion im Weinberg, Ernte, Weinabfüllung etc. Durch die Angabe bereits umgesetzter und weiterer möglicher Aktivitäten zur Förderung der Biodiversität, kann jeder Landwirt/Winzer seinen eigenen Aktionsplan entwickeln. Die rund 110 Maßnahmen, von denen die meisten seit Jahren als bewährte Verfahren erprobt und angewendet werden, wurden durch die von den Partnern durchgeführte Forschung ergänzt.

Der Biodiversitäts Aktions Plan und die darin enthaltenen Maßnahmen gelten für alle Produktionssysteme und ist auch in den 5 Sprachen erhältlich.