CoAct

CoAct

Integrated urban-rural concept for the production of activated carbon and energy sources from residual biomass (CoAct)

Field of action: Energy Transition

Project goals: CoAct pursues the goal of converting residual biomasses available in Friedrichshafen and in the Lake Constance district into an energy carrier and activated carbon. The project will develop innovative governance arrangements that will facilitate the reconciliation of interests and the long-term coordination of relevant urban-rural actors.

Project area: Lake Constance District

Duration: 2018 – 2023

Background

Municipalities and rural districts face the challenge of replacing their fossil fuel-based products to meet their climate protection goals. While renewable raw materials from forestry and agriculture are used extensively energetically or materially, residual biomasses, e.g. Foliage or landscape care material, find no or at least no high quality use.

Implementation

In the research and development phase, the project will determine the necessary technical, economic, ecological and legal knowledge base for the development of sustainable CoAct process variants. On the other hand, the actors involved, their relationships and interests are analyzed and innovative strategies and instruments are developed to shape the decision-making and implementation process for the CoAct process, which is to be carried out jointly by the city and the district.

In the second project phase (implementation and consolidation), the project will support, moderate and accompany the decision-making process for a CoAct process variant and the development of the implementation concept by the local authorities with innovative instruments, referring to the findings of the first project phase.

Contact

Contact person: Volker Kromrey

E-mail: volker.kromrey@bodensee-stiftung.org

Phone: +49 (0)7732-9995-48

Project Partners

  • City of Friedrichshafen
  • ifeu – Institut für Energie- und Umweltforschung Heidelberg GmbH
  • Institute for Rural Development Research
  • Krieg & Fischer GmbH
  • Lake Constance District
  • Lake Constance Foundation
  • Pyreg GmbH
  • TZW: DVGW-Technologiezentrum Wasser – the German Water Centre
  • University of Kassel (project management)
Copyright: Bodensee-Stiftung
Copyright: Bodensee-Stiftung
Copyright: Bodensee-Stiftung

CoAct

CoAct

„Integriertes Stadt-Land-Konzept zur Erzeugung von Aktivkohle und Energieträgern aus Restbiomassen (CoAct)“

Handlungsfeld: Energiewende

Projektziele: CoAct verfolgt das Ziel, in Friedrichshafen und im Bodenseekreis verfügbare Restbiomassen in einen Energieträger und in Aktivkohle zu wandeln. Im Projekt werden innovativen Governance-Arrangements entwickelt, die Interessensausgleich und die dauerhafte Koordinierung der relevanten Stadt-Land-Akteure ermöglichen.

Projektgebiet: Bodenseekreis

Laufzeit: 2018 bis 2023

Hintergrund

Kommunen und Landkreise stehen zur Erreichung ihrer Klimaschutzziele vor der Herausforderung, aus fossilen Rohstoffen erzeugte Produkte zu ersetzen. Während nachwachsende Rohstoffe aus Forst- und Landwirtschaft in großem Umfang energetisch oder stofflich genutzt werden, finden Restbiomassen, also z. B. Laub oder Landschaftspflegematerial, keine oder zumindest keine hochwertige Verwertung.

Dabei wird auf das IFBB-Verfahren (Integrierter Festbrennstoff- und Biogasproduktion aus Biomasse) zurückgegriffen.

Umsetzung

Das Projekt wird in der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsphase zum einen die notwendigen technischen, ökonomischen, ökologischen und rechtlichen Wissensgrundlagen ermitteln, die der Entwicklung nachhaltiger CoAct-Verfahrensvarianten dienen. Zum anderen werden die betroffenen Akteure, ihre Beziehungen und Interessen analysiert und innovative Strategien und Instrumente zur Gestaltung des Entscheidungs- und Umsetzungsprozesses für das CoAct-Verfahren entwickelt, der gemeinsam durch Stadt und Landkreis erfolgen soll.

In der zweiten Projektphase (Umsetzung und Verstetigung) wird das Projekt unter Rückgriff auf die Erkenntnisse der ersten Projektphase den Entscheidungsprozess für eine CoAct-Verfahrensvariante und die Erarbeitung des Realisierungskonzeptes durch die Gebietskörperschaften mit innovativen Instrumenten unterstützen, moderieren und begleiten.

Kontakt

Ansprechpartner: Volker Kromrey

E-Mail: volker.kromrey@bodensee-stiftung.org

Telefon: +49 (0)7732-9995-48

Projektpartner

  • Bodenseekreis
  • Bodensee-Stiftung
  • ifeu – Institut für Energie- und Umweltforschung Heidelberg
  • Institut für Ländliche Strukturforschung
  • Krieg & Fischer GmbH
  • Pyreg GmbH
  • Stadt Friedrichshafen
  • TZW: DVGW-Technologiezentrum Wasser
  • Universität Kassel (Projektleitung)
Copyright: Bodensee-Stiftung
Copyright: Bodensee-Stiftung
Copyright: Bodensee-Stiftung