PRO PLANET Apple Project

PRO PLANET Apple Project

Promotion of Wild Bees in Intensive Apple Plantations

Field of action: Nature and Lake Conservation

Project goals: Promotion of wild bees and other pollinating insects

Project area: Lake Constance region, Neckar region

Duration: since 2010

Background

Pollinating insects, such as honey bees, wild bees, hover flies, butterflies and beetles, have an important role in our ecosystem as they pollinate flowering plants. 80 % of our native flowering plants and 84 % of European crops are dependant on pollination through insects. Habitat degradation has increased in the past decades and is one of the main threats for pollinating insects and biodiversity as a whole.

 

Implementation

Fruit growers are sowing flowering strips, planting hedges and installing nesting aids for wild bees and birds. Since 2010 over 100 fruit growers have been participating in the project and up until 2017 they implemented: 246 hectar flowering strips, 8800 woody plans, 550 nesting aids for wild bees, 1740 nesting aids for birds and 120 bat boxes.

In 2017 the amount and species of wild bees was monitored. It has shown that intensively used apple plantations can also be a habitat for wild bees; 117 wild bee species were counted during the monitoring.

Contact

Contact person: Patrick Trötschler

E-mail: p.troetschler@bodensee-stiftung.org

Phone: +49 (0) 7732-9995-41

Homepage: www.proplanet-label.com

Project Funding

Copyright: Bodensee-Stiftung
Copyright: Bodensee-Stiftung
Copyright: Katja Röser / Marktgemeinschaft Bodenseeobst

PRO PLANET Apfelprojekt

PRO PLANET Apfelprojekt

Förderung von Wildbienen im Tafelobstbau am Bodensee

Handlungsfeld: Natur- und Gewässerschutz

Projektziele: Förderung von Wildbienen und weiteren blütenbestäubenden Insekten

Projektgebiet: Bodenseeregion, Neckarregion

Laufzeit: seit 2010

Hintergrund

Blüten besuchende Insekten wie Honigbiene, Wildbienen, Fliegen, Wespen, Schmetterlinge und Käfer haben eine zentrale Funktion im Ökosystem. Sie bestäuben die Blütenpflanzen. Auf die Fremdbestäubung durch Insekten sind 80% der heimischen Blütenpflanzen und 84% der europäischen Feldfrüchte angewiesen. Die Lebensbedingungen der Blütenbesucher haben sich in den letzten Jahrzehnten stark verschlechtert. Der Rückgang der bestäubenden Insekten ist eine der Hauptbedrohungen für den Erhalt der biologischen Vielfalt.

Umsetzung

Die Obstbauern legen Blühflächen an, pflanzen Hecken und Gehölze und installieren Nisthilfen für Wildbienen und Vögel. Jedes Jahr machen weit über 100 Obstbauern mit. Die Maßnahmenbilanz seit 2010 (Stand 2017): 246 Hektar Blühflächen, 8800 Gehölzpflanzen, 550 Insekten-Nisthilfen, 1740 Vogelkästen und 120 Fledermauskästen.

Die 2017 durchgeführte Erfolgskontrolle zeigt, dass auch intensiv genutzte Niederstamm-Obstanlagen Lebensraum für viele Wildbienen sein können. So wurden in den Anbauflächen und Fördermaßnahmen 117 Wildbienen-Arten ermittelt.

Kontakt

Ansprechpartner: Patrick Trötschler

E-Mail: p.troetschler@bodensee-stiftung.org

Telefon: +49 (0) 7732-9995-41

Homepage: www.proplanet-label.com

Projektförderer

Copyright: Bodensee-Stiftung
Copyright: Bodensee-Stiftung
Copyright: Katja Röser / Marktgemeinschaft Bodenseeobst