Nature and Biodiversity Conservation as a CSR Task in Medium-Sized Businesses

Nature and biodiversity conservation as a CSR task in medium-sized businesses

Biodiversity in organic viticulture

Field of action: Buisness and Biodiversity

Project goals: Raising awareness among ECOVIN member companies; carrying out biodiversity checks; implementation of biodiversity measures; development of a guideline for the integration of biodiversity aspects in organic viticulture

Project area: Germany

Duration: 2012-2014

Background

The National Biodiversity Strategy has as a vision an economy in harmony with nature. However, this implementation is only slowly gaining acceptance in the economy, although many companies benefit from intact nature and ecosystem services.

Ecologically working wineries already promote biological diversity with their near-natural farming methods. Nevertheless, the winegrowers are motivated to contribute even more to the preservation of biodiversity. Because there are further possibilities to improve one´s biodiversity performance not only in the vineyard, but also in the cellar, in sales or in marketing.

Implementation

Together with the Global Nature Fund and the Lake Constance Foundation, the Federal Association of Organic Viticulture ECOVIN has identified the possibilities for the protection and promotion of biological diversity in its member farms. With the help of biodiversity checks, specially adapted for viticulture, 30 ECOVIN farms were analysed in regard to their opportunities and risks in terms of biodiversity and then received concrete implementation recommendations. The experience gained from the check, finally led to special ECOVIN guidelines for the promotion of biodiversity in organic viticulture.

Contact

Contact person: Dr. Kerstin Fröhle

E-mail: kerstin.froehle@bodensee-stiftung.org

Phone: +49 (0) 7732-9995-40

 

Project Partners

Copyright: Thomas Schaefer
Copyright: Thomas Schaefer
Copyright: Thomas Schaefer

Naturschutz und Biodiversitätserhalt als CSR Aufgabe im Mittelstand

Naturschutz und Biodiversitätserhalt als CSR Aufgabe im Mittelstand

Biodiversität im ökologischen Weinbau

Handlungsfeld: Unternehmen und Biologische Vielfalt

Projektziele: Sensibilisierung der ECOVIN-Mitgliedsunternehmen; Durchführung von Biodiversity-Checks; Umsetzung von Biodiversitätsmaßnahmen; Entwicklung einer Richtlinie zur Integration von Biodiversitätsaspekten im ökologischen Weinbau

Projektgebiet: Deutschland

Laufzeit: 2012 – 2014

Hintergrund

Die Nationale Biodiversitätsstrategie sieht als Vision ein Wirtschaften im Einklang mit der Natur vor. In der Wirtschaft setzt sich diese Erkenntnis aber nur langsam durch, obwohl viele Unternehmen von intakter Natur und Ökosystemleistungen profitieren.

Ökologisch arbeitende Weingüter fördern bereits mit ihrer naturnahen Wirtschaftsweise die biologische Vielfalt. Trotzdem sind die Winzer/innen motiviert, noch mehr zum Erhalt der Biodiversität beizutragen. Denn nicht nur im Weinberg, auch im Keller, im Vertrieb oder im Marketing gibt es weitere Möglichkeiten, um die eigene Biodiversitäts-Bilanz zu verbessern.

Umsetzung

Gemeinsam mit dem Global Nature Fund und der Bodensee-Stiftung hat der Bundesverband Ökologischer Weinbau ECOVIN die Möglichkeiten zum Schutz und zur Förderung der biologischen Vielfalt in seinen Mitgliedsbetrieben erfasst. Mit Hilfe spezieller für den Weinbau angepasster Biodiversity-Checks wurden 30 ECOVIN-Betriebe in Bezug auf Ihre Chancen und Risiken in Sachen Biodiversität analysiert und erhielten dann konkrete Umsetzungsempfehlungen. Die gesammelten Erfahrungen aus dem Check mündeten schließlich in spezielle ECOVIN Richtlinien zur Förderung von Biodiversität im Bio-Weinbau.

Kontakt

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Kerstin Fröhle

E-Mail: mailto:kerstin.froehle@bodensee-stiftung.org

Telefon: +49 (0) 7732-9995-40

Projektpartner

Copyright: Thomas Schaefer
Copyright: Thomas Schaefer
Copyright: Thomas Schaefer